Set of Themes

Presentation : Public policy

The context in Québec

Il is generally admitted that, in the North-American context, Québec is one step ahead in several fields of social policy. However, even if some characteristics of its economy, such as the quality of its workforce, are recognized worldwide, Québec remains far behind the other important jurisdictions of the continent when it comes to collective wealth.

In a fragile economic development context, the state and structure of the Québec public finances are often seen as important obstacles to government intervention. As a society, Québec has yet to develop the tools and means to be internationally competitive, both within the goods and services markets and within the human and other resource markets.

The research team

CIRANO’s Public Policy research team is therefore dedicated, jointly with its private partners, but also and especially with its public partners, to high-level research on the important problems affecting the Québec of today and tomorrow. A leading research team is working, in partnership with the various stakeholders who represent the source of Québec public policies, to identify the issues of interest and to publish the results of the studies, which can then be used by the organizations involved.

CIRANO also contributes actively to public debate on current issues as well as on fundamental issues related to public policy formulation and evaluation in Québec.


President and Chief Executive Officer and Vice-President Public Policies
N.De Marcellis-Warin École Polytechnique de Montréal
S.Amine UQO
C.Beaudry École Polytechnique
C.Bellemare Université Laval
S.Bisaillon Université de Montréal
A.Blais Université de Montréal
R.Borges Da Silva Université de Montréal
B.Boudarbat U. de Montréal
M.Bourassa Forcier U. Sherbrooke
M.Boyer Université de Montréal
D.J.Caron École nationale d'administration publique en Outaouais
C.Carpentier U. Laval
M.Chemin U. McGill
R.Clark HEC Montréal
M.Connolly UQAM
D.Coviello HEC Montréal
A.M.Croteau U. Concordia
B.Dostie HEC Montréal
M.Doyon U. Laval
R.Fonseca Benito Université du Québec à Montréal
B.Fortin U. Laval
M.Foucault Institut d'études politiques de Paris
R.Gagné HEC Montréal
L.Godbout U. Sherbrooke
J.Hansen U. Concordia
J.Labrecque HEC Montréal
G.Lacroix U. Laval
R.Lacroix U. de Montréal
F.Lange U. McGill
D.Latulippe U. Laval
C.Laurin HEC Montréal
A.Lemelin INRS
J.Leroux HEC Montréal
M.L.Leroux UQAM
N.V.Long U. McGill
E.Mackaay U. de Montréal
L.Maheu U. de Montréal
P.Marier Concordia University
P.C.Michaud HEC Montréal
M.Mignerat U. d'Ottawa
C.Montmarquette U. de Montréal
K.Moran U. Laval
S.Nadeau ÉTS
J.F.Ouellet HEC Montréal
S.Pallage UQAM
D.Parent HEC Montréal
M.Patry HEC Montréal
M.Poitevin U. de Montréal
M.Polèse INRS
M.Poschke U. McGill
F.Ravenna HEC Montréal
L.Raymond Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
S.Rivard HEC Montréal
J.Robert HEC Montréal
B.Shearer Université Laval
B.Sinclair-Desgagné HEC Montréal
E.C.Strumpf U. McGill
J.M.Suret U. Laval
L.Tamini U. Laval
W.Thomson U. McGill
F.Vaillancourt U. de Montréal
A..Van-Assche HEC Montréal
Associated Fellow
B.A.Aubert Victoria University of Wellington
P.Beaudry University of British Columbia
C.Belzil École Polytechnique France
G.Carrier U. de Montréal
M.Crespo U. de Montréal
D.Ettinger U. Paris-Dauphine
N.Fortin UBC
S.Gordon U. Laval
J.F.Houde Wharton Business School
J.Hunt Rutgers University
A.Leach U. Alberta
P.T.Leger HEC Montréal
T.Lemieux UBC
R.Martinez Lopez URJC
M.Moreaux Toulouse I
J.Ruiz-Huerta Carbonell URJC
D.Vencatachellum HEC Montréal